I feel like time is running out…

Don’t you know the feeling that is like time is running out, or time is running short? Every day I experience this feeling, ever since I became muslim I became more aware of it. This has to do with obtaining knowledge. Knowledge of Allah, knowledge of myself and knowledge of my religion. Time is always to short for all the things I want to read and learn. Days, weeks, months, years pass by and they all seem to short to acquire the required and proper knowledge. I try to fill my days as much as possible with reading, studying, memorizing etc. but still this feeling is there…will this feeling be with me until I die? Probably it will. It reminds me of the hadith – paraphrased in my own words – that one will continue to seek knowlegde from the cradle till the grave and the saying by imam Ahmad bin Hanbal that one will have to seek knowlegde from the inkpot till the burial site. It is a kind of feeling that makes me restless moreover because we are only for a short time in this dunya, this world. Like the hadith says we are only travellers here. This dunya is only a door we enter and before we know it we are in the next room.

Furthermore, surat al-‘Asr (Qur’an, 103) comes to mind:

“By the time.

Verily! Man is in loss.

Except those who believe and do righteous deeds and recommend one another to the truth and recommend one another to patience.”

Imam al-Shafi’i, may Allah be pleased with him, said on this verse: “If people were to ponder over this sura it would be sufficient for them. (Source: Tafsir Ibn Kathir) By this he meant it would be sufficient to ensure success in this world and the next. 

Oh Allah grant me understanding of this great sura and let me live according to the realities of this sura.

Our time is devoid of baraka compared to the time people, especially scholars, had in the past. There are two wonderful books on the issue of time:

1.) Yusuf al-Qardawi, Time in the Life of a Muslim

2.) Abdul Fattah Abu Ghuddah, The Value of Time

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

