Was the Danish Muhammad – cartoonist burnt alive?

Was the Danish Muhammad – cartoonist burnt alive?

An interesting question….did he?

While in Kenya last year I first heard of this story. It seemed very unlikely to me but I was willing to believe it although I (as a Dutch resident; the Netherlands are very close to Denmark and a lot of people seem to think it is Denmark actually because a lot of Kenyans seemed to think I was from Denmark) had never heard of it before.  This story was sent to people by sms and spread like rapid fire all over the country and probably in a lot more countries (in and out of the islamic world). People were happy and speaking of divine punishment or retribution. It didn’t give me a feeling of happiness to be honest (I feel I should not be happy about the death of a creation of Allah) and to speak of divine punishment is way out my league. This is a matter of the unseen for me which I don’t know anything about and the other hand I would be attributing a lie to Allah if the story would not be true (and this is a grave sin). If he had to die it was qadr. But anyways….Back in my homecountry after four months in Kenya in the beginning of January 2009 I received another sms in which was claimed it was really true that the Danish Muhammad – cartoonist was burnt alive under suspicious circumstances. Now I wanted to know the truth. I asked “shaykh Google” to help me. Why didn’t we in Europe hear about this incident, if it took place, in the international press? Why people in Kenya know about it? I’m sure it would haven been hotly debated all over Europe if it really took place and most probably would it have led to a parliamentary debate in my country considering the (useless) debates that took place on islam and related subjects in our parliament by certain people whose names are not even worth mentioning.  These are some of the results after asking “shaykh Google”:

http://www.answering-islam.org/Hoaxes/cartoonist_burned.html

http://kadnan.blogspot.com/2006/06/did-you-notice-that.html

http://www.jihadwatch.org/archives/011845.php

http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread216418/pg1

(N.B.: the objectivity of the above sources is contented and can be doubted. so please be careful when reading from them because they are anti-islam sites!!)

To summarize the answer to the question in a few points:

1. The whole story is apparently a hoax, an urban legend.

2. Created by a Pakistani newspaper, called “The Nation” (http://www.nation.com.pk/)

3. The Danish Muhammad – cartoonist is still alive, in fact they are all still alive because there were in reality several cartoonists.

4. The editor of the Danish newspaper (Jyllands Posten)  is also still alive.

5. A lie is attributed to Allah by creating and spreading this story.

One of the cartoonists was interviewed in a Dutch and German (der Spiegel) newspaper at the end of 2008, see the following link: http://www.nrc.nl/international/Features/article2059780.ece/Danish_Muhammad_cartoonist_returns.

An advice to all muslims, including myself: question and (try to) verify (every) information you get on credibility (according to the Qur’anic command in aya 17:36) – before you act – and do not just forward any sms or e-mail you get. Furthermore, one can apply the method developed by Socrates, called the “Triple Filter Test”:

1. Is it true?

2. Is it good?

3. Is it usefull?

The answers are obvious. At least I’m convinced the story is not true. What good would there be in it if it were true? Would it have been useful too?

W’Allahu ‘alam and He knows best what is hidden from us and what is apparent.

3 Comments

Filed under Did you know that...., Narratives, Random thoughts

3 responses to “Was the Danish Muhammad – cartoonist burnt alive?

  1. ahmad

    Bro, why are you posting links to Anti-Islam sites???? “answering-islam” and “jihadwatch” are kuffar mocking Islam. Please delete!

  2. haruni

    Salam bro,

    I know, but I’m not going to delete these links because you say so. Have you read the article?

    I’ll post a warning to the article about these sources.

    Take care wa salam,

    H.

  3. M Sadeq

    this is a very usefull site use it and get islamic knowledge

    http://www.harunyahya.com/html/m_book_index.htm

    w’salam

Leave a Reply

