Beautiful poem

قال القاضي عبد الوهاب المالكي
Qādhi ‘Abd’l-Wahhāb al-Māliki said:

 

 

ونائمةٍ قبَّلتها فتنبَّهَتْ … وقالَتْ تعالَوْا فاطلُبُوا اللِّصَّ بالحدِّ


She was asleep. I kissed her. She awoke.
She shouted, “Help! Establish the law against this thief!”



فقلتُ لها إنِّي فَدَيتكِ غاصبٌ … وما حكمُوا في غاصبٍ بسوَى الرَّدِّ


So I said to her, “But I sacrificed myself for you! I took it by force I admit!
But they didn’t rule on the Usurper other than it is to be given back!



خُذيها وكُفِّي عنْ أَثيمٍ ظلامة … وإن أَنتِ لم ترضَيْ فأَلف على عدِّ


Take it and stop punishing this oppressive soul!
If that doesn’t satisfy you, then take a thousand instead!



فقالتْ قصاصٌ يشهدُ العقلُ أَنَّه … على كبدِ الجاني أَلذُّ من الشَّهْدِ


She said, “This kind of punishment, everyone bears witness no doubt
That it is sweeter for the Criminal than honey itself!



فباتَتْ يَميني وهي هميانُ خصرها … وباتَتْ يَساري وهي واسطَةُ العقدِ


So my right hand spent the night and it was her belt.
And my left hand spent the night and it was her necklace.



فقالتْ أَلم أخْبَرْ بأَنَّكَ زاهدٌ … فقلتُ بلَى ما زلتُ أَزهدُ في الزُّهْدِ


She said, “Was I not told that you were a pious man?!”
So I said, “Indeed! I am still a pious man when it comes to piety!”

 

Source: http://alternativeentertainment.wordpress.com/2008/10/18/she-was-asleep-i-kissed-her-she-awoke/

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

