The hukm on mawlid from the viewpoint of (Deobandi) Hanafi fiqh

See this profound and scholarly article:  http://deoband.org/2010/02/fiqh/miscellaneous/mawlid-deoband-and-hanafi-fiqh/ 

Generally speaking the difference between Deobandi’s and Barelwi’s is that Deobandi’s don’t do mawlid, as opposed to Barelwi’s. Read here the hukm on mawlid from the viewpoint of Hanafi fiqh and find out that there are 3 types of mawlid. Very interesting and profound article.

I sent this link to a Dutch weblog and they censured me (they didn’t allow my post with the link) since they follow shaykh Tahir ul-Qadri and they recently organized a big mawlid under the name “Mawlid Festival”. It can be questioned if they are Barelwi’s but they most probably don’t agree with the viewpoint in this article. May Allah guide them.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The hukm on mawlid from the viewpoint of (Deobandi) Hanafi fiqh

  1. Assalamu alaikum Brother

    I think the diff. between Deobandis and Barelwis is more than just over mawlid. Mawlid is a fiqh issue. The core diff. is on the five points (omnipresence of Prophet [saw], mukhtar al-kull, ilm al-ghayb, etc.)

  2. haruni

    Salam brother,

    Thanks for this comment. I know, you are right. I just meant to point out one of the differences, thanks for the nuance, may Allah reward you.

  3. LJ

    I think the article is complicating a simple matter.
    Did the prophet (PBUH) celebrate his own birthday?
    Did the Four Rightly Guided Caliphs celebrate the Prophet’s birthday ?
    Once you know the answer of these two questions is “No” , then it is very clear what we have to do.
    Unnecessary classifications and explanations pollute our beautiful religion

  4. haruni

    Salam brother / sister, I think you are over-simplifying a matter beyond your own grasp and understanding. There are many things -too many things too list- the Prophet s.a.w.s. and the four rightly caliphs (r.) didn’t do. The rest you can fill in yourself. It is exactly thoughts of people like you who pollute our beautiful religion. If you want to argue with me I suggest you go and learn and understand your religion instead of wasting your and my time as I know my religion.

  5. LJ

    I see you have a very short temper.
    If we start filling in all the the voids ourselves (either with good intention or bad), then is it not bidaa’ ? And is bidaa’ allowed in our religion ?
    The majority of the problems with religions of the previous prophets, was that people started inventing and filling in the blanks…so much so that , the true religion got drowned in new inventions
    If every muslim in the world argues like you do, telling that he/she is correct and are not willing to listen to to other people’s opinion , then all of us will stay where we are……Neither will you help others nor will you help yourself.

    If you read our Quran you will read
    “Invite (all) to the Way of thy Lord with wisdom and beautiful preaching; and argue with them in ways that are best and most gracious: for thy Lord knows best, who have strayed from His Path, and who receive guidance.” (An-Nahl: 125)

    You point out over-simplification….Please tell me when did the prophet (PBUH) try to complicate our religion? If you see the other religions of our previous prophets you will so much complicated rituals and so many complicated approaches that the original message is lost.
    As for the – many things they didn’t do – why should we do those things if they thought it wasn’t important to do it then ?
    As for your point – if you want to argue with me – I really dont want to argue with you but engage in dialogue by which I hope both of us will be truely guided.
    Do I think I am right all the time – NO
    What I know now and what I practice now is much much better than what I knew 10 years back
    And I intend to improve myself by continuous search and application of knowledge in my life
    Do I get angry when someone loses temper – No, because I have seen in my long life that when I get angry I shut the doors of knowledge and ultimately I will suffer.

    May Allah guide us both

  6. haruni

    As-salamu aleykum brother/sister,

    Amin.

    You should start with the salam first before any kalam and I gave you salam. This du’a for your brothers and sisters is very important.

    Yes, I do have a short temper, may Allah forgive me. My reason for this? Because I don’t like argue about secondary issues: and mawlid is a secondary issue not worth discussing, there are much more important issues. Read the fatwa of shaykh Bin Bayyah on this issue and it will clarify things for you insha’Allah. Mawlid is not wajib but mustahabb; also it is not an act of ‘ibadah but of custom. (And this is not my personal opinion) If you don’t want to accept the opinions of establised ‘ulama that’s fine with me, but don’t bother me with your simplistic opinion. Sorry for judging you but the way you reason is simplistic. For me I don’t care whether someone celebrates mawlid or not because it is not essential to practicing the din.

    I also want to ask you why you want to discuss this with me as I’m not the right person to ask all these questions you have. May Allah assist you in your search for the truth and grant you knowledge. Go and ask scholars about mawlid and not just ‘Salafi’ scholars and if your heart is open you will find the answers you want / need. But let me make some comments to stimulate your thoughts.

    1.) The Prophet s.a.w.s. did celebrate his birthday. How? By fasting.
    2.) Read your history and you will be surprised to find out what the 4 Khulufa r.a. did in order to commemorate the birthday of the Prophet s.a.w.s.
    3.) The argument that they -the Prophet s.a.w.s. and the 4 Khulafa r.a. – didn’t do something, is a false argument. That is a severe mistake in understanding the usul of this religion.
    4.) Like I said before: There are many things the Prophet s.a.w.s. and the 4 Khulafa didn’t do which we do and they are still valid. The list of these things are too many. This needs be understood in relation with point 3.
    5.) I also think it is a bid’ah, yes. But this doesn’t say anything about the legal qualification of doing mawlid. Here the article comes in. It is a mere fiqh issue.
    6.) There are bad and good bid’ah’s. So there are bid’ah which are allowed actually.
    7.) Have you ever attended a mawlid?
    8.) Mawlids take place weekly all over the world, even in Saudi-Arabia.

    On almost all of these points one can elaborate and explain more but you will have to ask scholars about them.

    Yes, I know the Prophet s.a.w.s. came to facilitate things for us and not to complicate things, as the hadith goes freely interpretated. But not everything is that simple that we can all easily understand and this concerns the intricate points of the sciences, it needs study and sound understanding under the guidance of a scholar. I’d rather have the faith of an old woman as al-Ghazali (r.) said in one of his works. That wouldn’t complicate things.

    To end this I’d like to say the issue of mawlid is an issue over which scholars have differed and both sides so to speak have valid and good arguments and I’d like to leave it at that. All I did is providing the opinions. We can’t determine who is right in the end and our intentions decide the matter.

    May Allah guide and forgive us.

    your brother Harun

  7. LJ

    The Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam never regularly fasted on the twelfth of Rabee’ Al-Awwal, which is the date that some claim is his birthday, rather, he fasted every Monday, and there are four Mondays in every month. Therefore, celebrating the twelfth of Rabee’ Al-Awwal and designating certain acts of worship for it must be considered as an attempt to correct what is thought to be wrong or less than perfect on the part of the Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam.

    The Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam did not only fast on Mondays, but in addition, he would also fast on Thursdays, as he said: “The records of deeds are raised (to Allaah) every Monday and Thursday, therefore, I like to be fasting at this time.” (Tirmidhi). Moreover, the Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam did not say that the reason for fasting on a Monday were due to his birth only, but also because of the fact that the records of everybody’s deeds are raised to Allaah on these days. Therefore, celebrating Al-Mawlid with the excuse that the Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam used to fast on a Monday is a misunderstanding and a gross exaggeration of the facts.

    The Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam did not add any form of celebration to his fasting, as those who celebrate Al-Mawlid do. If people intend to express their gratitude to Allaah by observing Al-Mawlid and they justify it with the excuse that he used to fast on Mondays, then common sense dictates that they must completely imitate the Prophet sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam in the way that he expressed gratitude to Allaah. Many people who celebrate Al-Mawlid do not fast regularly on Mondays and Thursdays as they deem it to be exhausting. On the contrary, they actually prepare and eat more food than usual as part of their celebration.

  8. LJ

    By the way, I have taken the above argument from
    http://www.alminbar.com/khutbaheng/mawlid.htm

  9. haruni

    Salam brother / sister,

    This will be a never ending story but I’ll comment shortly nevertheless.

    1.) Whose khutbah was this? That is not clear.
    2.) That site is Salafi: of course they are against mawlid.
    3.) The majority of the scholars are of the opinion that the Prophet s.a.w.s. was born on the 12th of Rabi’ al-Awwal, not just some people.
    4.) Are you aware of the fact that many, many famous and big scholars of the past wrote in favour of the mawlid?
    5.) I’ll not spend time on the other issues your try to raise.

    Here is something from a giant scholar of India of not so long ago: http://www.daralhadith.org.uk/?p=2623

    If you would just read you will find out more. I will only refer to one book here and that already suffices I feel. It is available in English from Sunni Publications. It is called “Our Master Muhammad” by shaykh al-Husayni rahimahullah from Syria, an established scholar whose work was accepted by Salafi’s even, like Bin Baz etc. In Vol. II you can read about the mawlid. I recommend that book to everyone. It is a modern day Shamaa’il and a masterwork that will create love in your heart for the Prophet s.a.w.s.

    I’ll end here because cutting and pasting translated ahadith from the internet will not bring us any further. Like I said before: I don’t mind if you don’t celebrate mawlid, that is up to you. I don’t celebrate it either/ haven’t really celebrated it but I recognize/acknowledge the validity of the mawlid that is within the boundaries of the shari’ah. Put your time in creating love for the Prophet s.a.w.s. instead of bothering me with your point of view. This is a waste of time because it will not increase your love and imaan.

    Take care wa salam,

    your brother in Islam

  10. LJ

    Walaikum Salam,

    The point of discussion here is not only for your and my enlightenment. But for the many muslims who will pass by this webpage and end up reading these comments. To show us and them the different viewpoints and in the end let the decide what to do for themselves.

    Salam Alaikum
    LJ

  11. haruni

    Wa salamu aleykum wa rahmatullah,

    My log is not really worth reading and I’m nobody. If people want enlightenment and clarification on this issue they need to ask scholars and not some laymen like me. This issue has been debated by many scholars of the past among which giants. What they have said/written is clear and suffices. Our discussion is insignificant.

    Ma’as-salam

Leave a Reply

